2018-2019 Academic Catalogs

Graduate Assistantships

Graduate Assistantships are university appointments that provide financial support to outstanding graduate students. These assistantships allow students to gain experience in teaching and research at the university level.

Graduate Assistantships:

  1. Give faculty more time for research and faculty development, thus strengthening the graduate program;
  2. Are used as a recruiting tool to attract talented students to Minot State University;
  3. Benefit all areas and programs on campus as a graduate may pursue a graduate degree in one program while conducting research or teaching in another area;
  4. Improve the academic quality of Minot State University.

An assistantship is based on a portion of a student’s full-time status for the specific job assigned. This could be teaching one class or conducting research for 5 hours per week during the academic year or 10 hours during the summer term. Each department chair will provide a job description to the Graduate Assistant and the Graduate School. It is expected that a 1/8 time assistant would relieve faculty time for that job for 1/8 time. The student receiving a graduate assistantship must enroll in a minimum of 6 semester hours of course work during the fall or spring semester or 3 semester hours during summer session or be completing thesis or project credits. Students enrolled in thesis or project credits or who have an in-progress grade and are enrolled in Continuing Enrollment are eligible to receive 2 years of graduate assistantship funding. Students enrolled in the Education Specialist program and have thesis or project credits in-progress are eligible to receive 3 years of graduate assistantship funding. Students enrolled in a doctoral program and have dissertation credits in progress are eligible to receive 4 years of graduate assistantship funding.

To be recommended by their department, a graduate student will need to submit the Graduate School Assistantship Application to their Program Director.  The form is located on the Graduate School website at minotstateu.edu/graduate/current_students/index.shtml.  Awards are based upon actual enrollment, and the student must be enrolled in a minimum of 6 credits. This award may be renewed each semester providing the student maintains eligibility within the graduate program.


Tuition Awards

Tuition Awards are available to new graduate students.  Students should inquiry with their Program Director for department availability. To be eligible for consideration, applicants are required to be:

  • Enroll in six or more on-campus graduate course credits
  • Fully admitted into a Minot State University graduate program


Several MSU Departments may have additional scholarships which are offered on a year-by-year basis pending availability of funds. Students may contact the Financial Aid Office at 701-858-3375 or their respective Program Directors for additional information.

Most departmental scholarships selections are made from the applications received by February 15 of each year. Applications will continue to be accepted after February 15 however most scholarships are granted by the department for those who met the initial February 15 yearly deadline. 

To be considered for any scholarships, applicants are required to complete the appropriate Scholarship Web Application (New or Returning) which can be found on the Graduate School website at minotstateu.edu/graduate/current_students/index.shtml.

For those applying to a College of Business Scholarship, applicants will also be required to complete the COB application which is located on the right hand side of the following website: minotstateu.edu/business/pages/scholarships.shtml.

College of Business

Bruce and Diane Walker
Open to full-time COB student

Doris A. Slaaten
Open to students with a GPA of 3.0 in financial need

E. James McIntyre
Open to full-time COB students; minimum GPA of 3.0; with preference to those participating in MSU Athletics.

Jan Barlow
Open to COB students

MSIS Scholarship Endownment
Open to MSIS graduate students enrolled in at least 6 credits with a GPA of 3.0 or greater

Randy & Pat Burckhard
As per the Alumni Office, awarded to Business Administration majors on an quadrennial basis

Richard L. Muss Business
As per the Alumni Office, awarded annually to full-time COB students who are residents of N.D.

Robert Torgerson
Open to full-time MSU students in the COB

Yvonne Schultz
As per the Alumni Office, open to COB graduate students

Communication Disorders -Speech Language Pathology

North Dakota Speech, Language, and Hearing Association:

Open to graduate and undergraduate students of the least junior status majoring in communication disorders.

Minot Sertoma Club

Established by the Minot Sertoma Club to aid students in hearing and speech. One scholarship is awarded each year to a student in education of the deaf and one to a student in speech pathology, both on the basis of scholarship and need.

Hearing and Training Center

Scholarship for graduate students in Communication Disorders minimum GPA is 3.5. .

Edna Gilbert

Open to anyone majoring in Communication Disorders.

North Dakota Department of Instruction
Open to students who agree to be employed in a North Dakota school following graduation.

Dr. Audrey Lunday

Open to a first year graduate student who is a single-parent graduate student from abroad whose intent is to be employed in a medical setting.

St. Joseph's Community Foundation
Open to a graduate or undergraduate student studying communication disorders


Ruth Schell Overholser Fellowship

Established for the benefit of graduate Students pursuing the study of music.  Students must be enrolled as a graduate student in the Division of Music at MSU, demonstrate financial need, and academic achievements and maintain a GPA of 3.0.

Special Education

Elsie May Deeter Hearing Impaired

Established by Elsie May Deeter, who spent her entire teaching career working with the hearing impaired. It is for the benefit of hearing impaired students or those students studying to be a teacher for the hearing impaired.

Florence Lake

Established by Florence Lake, a leader in education of the hearing-impaired children who was instrumental in establishing the program at Minot State University. This annual scholarship is awarded to students in education of the deaf on the basis of academic achievement and financial needs.

Frances V. Leach

Established by the late Mrs. Thomas W. Leach of Towner, North Dakota, and Tulsa, Oklahoma, to encourage and support special education. Priority is given to a graduate student from Towner or McHenry County majoring in learning disabilities. If no graduate student applies, the scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate student from Towner or McHenry County majoring in special education.