Graduate School Calendar Dates

Fall 2019

Description Full 16 Weeks First 8 Weeks Second 8 Weeks
Classes begin after 4 p.m. Mon, Aug. 26 Mon, Aug. 26
Classes begin Tues, Aug. 27 Mon, Aug. 26 Mon, Oct. 21
Labor Day, University closed Mon, Sept. 2 Mon, Sept. 2 Mon, Sept. 2
Last day to add Wed, Sept. 4 Thurs, Aug. 29 Thurs, Oct. 24
Last day to drop a class or withdraw from all classes and receive a 100% refund Wed, Sept. 4 Thurs, Aug. 29 Thurs, Oct. 24
Last day to withdraw from all classes and receive a 75% refund Fri, Oct. 4 Thurs, Sept. 12 Thurs, Nov. 7
Last day to withdraw from all classes and receive a 50% refund Sun, Nov. 3 Wed, Sept. 25 Wed, Nov. 20
Graduation application due to Program Director for December conferral Fri, Nov. 1 Fri, Nov. 1 Fri, Nov. 1
Last day for Thesis/Project Defense for December conferral Fri, Nov. 8 Fri, Nov. 8 Fri, Nov. 8
Last day to submit thesis to Graduate School for final review for December conferral Fri, Nov. 8 Fri, Nov. 8 Fri, Nov. 8
Veterans Day, University closed Mon, Nov. 11 Mon, Nov. 11 Mon, Nov. 11
Last day to drop Fri, Nov. 15 Fri, Oct 4 Fri, Nov. 29
Thanksgiving vacation (University closed Thursday) Nov. 27-29 Nov. 27-29 Nov. 27-29
Graduation applications for December conferral due to the Graduate School Mon, Dec. 2 Mon, Dec. 2 Mon, Dec. 2
Last day to submit approved thesis to MSU's Graduate School for December conferral Wed, Dec. 11 Wed, Dec. 11 Wed, Dec. 11
Final exams Dec. 16-20 Oct. 16-17 Dec. 11-12
Course Completion Agreements due in the Graduate School Wed, Dec. 18 Wed, Oct. 16 Wed, Dec. 11
Grades due from faculty to the Registrar's Office at NOON CST Mon, Dec. 23 Tues, Oct. 22 Tues, Dec. 17
Official grades available Mon, Dec. 30 Mon, Oct. 28 Mon, Dec. 30

Spring 2020

Description Full 16 Weeks First 8 Weeks Second 8 Weeks
Recommendation for Awarding of Degree forms for December conferral due to Graduate School Mon, Jan. 13 Mon, Jan. 13 Mon, Jan. 13
Classes begin after 4 p.m. Mon, Jan. 13 Mon, Jan. 13
Classes begin Tues, Jan. 14 Mon, Jan. 13 Mon, Mar. 9
Graduate students may begin registration for May Hooding & Commencement Ceremonies Wed, Jan. 15 Wed, Jan. 15 Wed, Jan. 15
Martin Luther King Day, University closed Mon, Jan. 20 Mon, Jan. 20 Mon, Jan. 20
Last Day to Add Thurs, Jan. 23 Thurs, Jan 16 Fri, Mar. 13
Last day to drop a class or withdraw from all classes and receive a 100% refund Thurs, Jan. 23 Thurs, Jan. 16 Fri, Mar. 13
President's Day, University closed Mon, Feb. 17 Mon, Feb. 17 Mon, Feb. 17
Last day to withdraw from all classes and receive a 75% refund Mon, Feb. 24 Thurs, Jan. 30 Sat, Mar. 28
Graduation application due to Program Director for May conferral Mon, Mar. 2 Mon, Mar. 2 Mon, Mar. 2
Spring Break March 16-20 March 16-20 March 16-20
Last day to submit reservation for May hooding & commencement ceremonies Mon, Mar. 16 Mon, Mar. 16 Mon, Mar. 16
Last day to withdraw from all classes and receive a 50% refund Thurs, Mar. 26 Wed, Feb. 12 Sun, Apr. 12
Last day to submit order for graduation regalia for May hooding and commencement ceremonies Mon, Mar. 30 Mon, Mar. 30 Mon, Mar. 30
Graduation Applications for May conferral due to Graduate School Wed, Apr. 1 Wed, Apr. 1 Wed, Apr. 1
Last day to drop Fri, Apr. 9 Fri, Feb. 21 Fri, Apr. 24
Easter Break (University closed Friday only) April 10-13 April 10-13 April 10-13
Last day for Thesis/Project Defense for May conferral Mon, Apr. 8 Mon, Apr. 8 Mon, Apr. 8
Last day to submit thesis to Graduate School for final review for May conferral Mon, Apr. 8 Mon, Apr. 8 Mon, Apr. 8
Last day to submit approved thesis to MSU's Graduate School for May conferral Tues, May 5 Tues, May 5 Tues, May 5
Final Exams May 11-15 March 4-5 May 6-7
Course Completion Agreements due in the Graduate School Wed, May 13 Wed, Mar. 4 Wed, May 6
Graduate School Hooding Ceremony in Ann Nicole Nelson Hall 8:00 a.m. Fri, May 15 Fri, May 15 Fri, May 15
Commencement at MSU Dome at 10:00 a.m. Fri, May 15 Fri, May 15 Fri, May 15
Grades due from faculty to the Registrar's Office at NOON CST Mon, May 18 Tues, Mar. 10 Tues, May 12
Official grades available Mon, May 25 Mon, Mar. 16 Mon, May 25

Summer 2020 

Description Date
Recommendation for Awarding of Degree forms for May conferral due to Graduate School Tues, May 26
Standard 8 week term classes begin Tues, May 26
Graduation application due to Program Director and Graduate School for August conferral Mon, June 1
Last day to drop a class or withdraw from all classes and receive a 100% refund Sat, May 30
Last day to add Sat, May 30
Last day for Thesis/Project Defense for August conferral Mon, June 29
Last day to withdraw from all classes and receive a 75% refund Sun, June 14
Last day to withdraw from all classes and receive a 50% refund Mon, June 29
Independence Day (Observed), University closed Fri, July 3
Last day to drop Tues, June 30
Last day to submit thesis to Graduate School for final review for August conferral Fri, July 10
Last day of classes Tues, July 21
Final exams July 22-23
Last day to submit approved thesis to MSU's Graduate School for August conferral Fri, July 24
Course Completion Agreements due in the Graduate School Wed, July 29
Grades due from faculty to the Registrar's Office at NOON CST Mon, Aug. 3
Official grades available Mon, Aug. 10
Recommendation for Awarding Degree forms due to Graduate School for August conferral Fri, Aug. 14