2018-2019 Academic Catalogs

Division of Social Science

Chair of Social Science

Dr. Daniel Ringrose | email: daniel.ringrose@minotstateu.edu

The Division of Social Science at Minot State University encompasses the disciplines of Economics, Geography, History, Philosophy, Political Science and Sociology.  The division's programs offer BA, BSE, minor, and concentration options.  Students seeking a Bachelor of Arts degree may major in History, Sociology, or Social Science.  Students seeking a North Dakota secondary education teaching license can pursue the History BSE or Social Science BSE degree.  At one point or another the vast majority of MSU students will take courses in the division to satisfy their general education history, social science, and diversity requirements.  Also, students are encouraged to consider declaring a minor or concentration in one or more Social Science area, as this training extends and complements many other majors.  Please see each specific area for more detail.

Areas with Majors include:

History BA, History BSEd (teacher preparation) | Contact History faculty for advising

Social Science BSEd (teacher preparation) | Contact History faculty for advising

Social Science BA | Contact any Social Science Division faculty for advising

Sociology BA | Contact Sociology faculty for advising

Areas with Minors and/or Concentrations include:

Economics (Minor & Concentration) | Contact Economics faculty for advising

Geography (Minor & Concentration) | Contact Geography faculty for advising

History (Minor & Concentration) | Contact History faculty for advising

Native American Studies (Minor & Concentration) | Contact Dr. Jastrzembski for advising

Philosophy (Minor & Concentration) | Contact Dr. Kelly for advising

Political Science (Concentration) | Contact Dr. Larshus for advising

Sociology (Minor & Concentration) | Contact Sociology faculty for advising


Economics Faculty

Daniel Ngugi
Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator

Geography Faculty

Zebulon Wallace
Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator

History Faculty

Bethany Andreasen

Joseph Jastrzembski
Professor, Program Coordinator

Ernst Pijning

Daniel Ringrose
Professor, Division Chair

Native American Studies Faculty

Joseph Jastrzembski
Professor, Program Coordinator

Philosophy Faculty

Stewart Kelly
Professor, Program Coordinator

Political Science Faculty

Jynette Larshus
Assistant Professor, Program Coordinator

Sociology Faculty

Harry Hoffman
Associate Professor, Program Coordinator

Jynette Larshus
Assistant Professor